I Wanna Be… Admission Counselor/ Wardrobe Stylist


Tell us about what you do.
I am an undergraduate Admission Counselor and athletic liaison for the University of Sciences.
What does an average day at work look like for you?
My typical day has varying dynamics to it. Some days I will be going into my office at the University of the Sciences. My primary duties are to review prospective undergraduate student applications, interviewing those students, assisting in some type of outreach, coordinating information with the athletics department and possibly hitting the road to attending college fairs.
Do you work alone or with other people?
I work with a staff of about 20 people.
Is this what you wanted to do as a child? (or was it by accident, choice or influence )?
As a child that had a career in mind I wanted to be a child psychologist. As I grew up I decided to run with the Psychology degree but staying in a higher education capacity.
How long ago did you start on this path?
I started on this path to my career starting my junior year of college when I was a senior admission fellow at Ursinus College. This position gave me the opportunity to interview prospective students.
How long were you doing it before you made it into your career or primary form of income?
As was lucky enough to have a job when I graduated from school so I went right into my field.
Did anything significant happen to get you to that point?
Well, a large weight was lifted off of my chest of searching for a job like the rest of my friends. I was able to enjoy my entire senior year because I had my 1st job offer my 1st semester of that year.
What kind of education do you have?
I current hold two degrees. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Art and a Bachelors of Science in Psychology.
If you went to school, did you enjoy studying? Could you see where it might lead you at the time? What advice would you give to someone else who might be studying to get into your industry?
In 2008 I graduated from Ursinus College with a Bachelors of Science in Psychology with a minor focus in Economics. During the 4 years years that I attended the Ursinus College, I worked for the admission office and ran track. Working in the admission office I found that I really enjoyed the behind of the scenes of what made a university run, in particular, moving students through the college process. The one word of advice I would give someone looking to pursue a career in higher education is to be ready to work a lot of hours.
What do you think is the best thing about what you do?
I would say that the best thing about me is my ability to relate to people and situations. I enjoy interacting with people and learning new things. So anytime I can sit and be a fly on the wall and just learn I will do so.
What’s the worst thing?
Sometimes I think I talk a alot. I have so many ideas in my head I want to get them all out sometimes.
Would you call yourself a workaholic, & if so, are you alright with that? Do you think that’s normal for your industry?
I will call myself a workaholic because I take pride in my work and want to do it well even if it means long hours. Also, since I have the www.MensStylePro.com site I do double duty.
What would your number one suggestion be for someone who wants to do what you do?
Make sure you work out often and have a balanced diet. With the amount of travel that you do and hotel stays that you will have, you will be in and out of fast food joints. You will want to stay as healthy as possible so that you can be productive.
What do you wish you had known when you first started out?
I actually knew alot about the field before I was a professional being that I work in my college’s admission office for all 4 year of undergrad.
Are there any major misconceptions about your job or industry?
That I we did is read applications. The admission department of a university (atleast where I work) is very instrumental the operation of marketing, social media and other events that affect the campus.
What is the best thing that’s happened to you as a consequence of the work you do?
As a result of my job I do a fair amount of travel. In the last month i’ve been as far a Tampa and within a few days been in Hartford, Connecticut. It’s a great field to work in especially if you are interested in meeting new people constantly.
What motivates you to keep doing what you’re doing?
The college process is something I feel that is important to educate the youth about. Being that I work in a undergraduate admissions, I can stay abreast of what changes in the process and help to move students through the motions properly. Without dedicated admission counselors students would just be lost once they have applied to a university.98% : I think I could get to 100%.
Is there much career progression available to you? What would you like to do next?
There is definitely room to move up to a director position or dean in a university.
Do you think you’ll continue doing this for the rest of your life?
It’s not certain because I love what I do. As you can see the style game is definitely pulling me in. Visitwww.MensStylePro.com.





Leave a Reply

